The good, the bad, the ugly

Let’s start off with the bad news: the weather is still not favourable for having a nice and relaxing ride on a road bike. And this will continue to be the case for at least another week and a half. I had been making (semi-serious) plans of going out on a ride with another person this Sunday but after speaking with our bike-dealer we decided to listen to reason. Having our bike-dealer tell us that it is too dangerous for road biking because there might be patches of ice on any of the roads made it an official weather warning for us (there are not that many weather conditions deterring our bike-dealer from riding on a road bike).

The good thing, though: I am still able to run. I have determined that my cold is gone now. So, I donned my running shoes and headed out for a run that went surprisingly well. Of course, I was slower than last year. But I was very pleased with myself and my body for being able to run continuously and not even stopping on the long up-hill stretch. Yay!

And the ugly? Well, that has to be the feeling you get from reviving muscle groups not used in a long time. Yes, aching legs are ugly. Isn’t it remarkable how cycling and running do not use the same set of muscles in your legs? But I live in hope that the pain will not linger as long as my cold did.

Leave a comment