Blimey how time flies

Several posts were started but still lie unfinished in the drafts section of my account. I really need to change that, so much time has passed since I last posted anything. So, brace yourselves, book reviews are coming.

Also, I noticed that I have now been a Postcrossing member for 1111 days. Yes, time really does fly. A couple of days ago, my 1000th “sent card” was registered (I have sent more, some are still on their way, a couple of others apparently vanished somewhere along the way). And it will not be long till I receive my 1000th postcard from a random sender. Actually, I am surprised because it does not really feel as if I have sent or received all that many cards to be honest. But I still enjoy the whole project, receiving postcards from places I have never really thought about before. Taiwan seems to be a very beautiful part of the globe and I should definitely plan several voyages (with or without my bike) to all those countries in the more eastern parts of Europe. But unfortunately this whole postcard-sending-thing also gives me crazy ideas, like wanting to learn even more languages, for example Russian or Portuguese. Ah yes, I have to admit that it actually feels pretty good to be praised for attempting to write messages in a foreign language (even though I fear they are often riddled with mistakes) – so, naturally, I crave more praise. Plus, it also boosts my confidence being able to understand messages in other tongues (admittedly, those messages are short and I wish I would receive more in Spanish, French, and Japanese…). But I am waffling. I had better head over to the unfinished posts.

Leave a comment